If you are purchasing a vehicle through a dealership, a secure bill of sale will be used. If you are purchasing a vehicle from or selling a vehicle to another private party, the buyer needs a Bill of Sale.
A private seller is any person who is not a dealer who sells or offers to sell a used motor vehicle to a consumer. Under Massachusetts law, anyone who sells more than three cars in a one-year period is considered a dealer and must obtain a used car dealer license from their municipality.
The Massachusetts Lemon Laws require private parties selling used cars to inform buyers about all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle. The law applies to all private party sales regardless of the price or mileage. Private party sellers are not required to repair the vehicle after it has been sold.
The seller must refund the amount you paid for the vehicle, less 15 cents per mile of use. If a private party seller refuses to cancel the contract within 30 days of the sale, you should consult with an attorney to determine whether to pursue the matter in court. Find for tips and resources to find lawyers.
If a private party seller refuses to cancel the contract within 30 days of the sale, consult with an attorney to determine your best course of action. Lemon Law arbitration is not available for private party sales.
Registration fees are included in Lemon Law buybacks from dealers, but private sellers are only legally required to return the money you paid to them. If you have taken the steps to void or rescind a private sale, contact the Registry of Motor Vehicles to see if you may be eligible for a refund of registration charges or other fees.
Regardless of where they are making a purchase, consumers need to know how to protect themselves from a fraudulent deal. An unscrupulous seller may try to get rid of a stolen vehicle, tamper with an odometer by rolling back the mileage, alter a title, or sell a car with extensive water or collision damage that has not been properly repaired.
If you are buying a vehicle, ensure the seller has completed in their entirety both the seller and purchaser sections on the certificate of title before visiting a branch to apply for a new certificate of title. The seller should remove the license plate from the vehicle at the time of the transaction. The purchaser is responsible for obtaining a new certificate of title, registration and license plate.
Do not buy a vehicle from an individual unless the seller has the title to the vehicle in their name and can give it to you at the time of sale. Always be sure the vehicle identification number (VIN) on a title matches the vehicle identification number on the vehicle. The vehicle odometer reading must not be less than the odometer reading on the face of the title.
When a motor vehicle is sold or transferred, the odometer reading must be recorded in the assignment section of the title by the seller. If the title does not include this section for this purpose, the seller may record the mileage on an odometer statement on a form available from DMV.
Oh, and, by the way: PrivateAuto has private-party used vehicles for sale in California and also provides an end-to-end platform to get the deal done, from secure messaging with sellers to instantaneous payment transfers.
Other used vehicle marketplaces leave you to organize a meetup with the seller by exchanging personal info and having a lot of back-and-forth. With PrivateAuto, your personal info is kept private. Our handy in-app scheduler allows the two of you to arrange the perfect time and place.
The key component of the entire transaction is transferring a California car title from seller to buyer. When the seller signs the title and hands it to you, the vehicle is legally yours. There are still some steps remaining for you to take following the title transfer, but you now own the car.
Over 1.2 million vehicles are registered in South Dakota, all of which are identified by a legal document called a vehicle title. While the primary purpose of a title is to establish who owns the vehicle, titles also provide vehicle information like make, model year, weight and the vehicle identification number (VIN). As vehicles are bought and sold, the title becomes the legal documentation of each change in ownership. Both the buyer and the seller must follow specific procedures to ensure the title is correctly transferred from one owner to the next.
If you are buying the car from a private party, keep your plates and go to any DMV branch location with proof of insurance, your bill of sale, the title (which must be signed over to you by the previous owner), and the car's previous registration. You will need to fill out forms to register and title the car and transfer your plates to your recently purchased vehicle.
Five-day temporary plates are issued to Rhode Island residents who have purchased a 2001 vehicle or newer from a private party or an out-of-state dealer, provided the vehicle has an out-of-state title and requires a VIN inspection. You must present a bill of sale, the out-of-state title, your current Rhode Island license or current out-of-state license with proof of residency and insurance information.
If you are buying the car from a dealership, they may offer a service to register and title the vehicle for you. The dealer must provide you with the MSO (Manufactuturers' Statement of Origin), bill of sale and RI Dealer Tax Form. If the vehicle was purchased from an out-of-state dealer, a RI Sales Tax form must be used.
If you are buying a car from out of state, bring the title (signed over to you by the previous owner), proof of insurance, and a bill of sale to any DMV location. You will have to buy a temporary plate ($10.00) as well.
When you purchase a vehicle from a dealership in Idaho, the dealer will prepare the application for the vehicle title on your behalf and file it with the ID DMV. When the sale closes, the sales tax will be collected. If you purchase a vehicle from an out-of-state dealer, you are purchasing a vehicle from a private seller.
Buying a car from a private seller can save you money because you could have a better chance of negotiating than you do with a dealer. Once you've found a car and negotiated your price, call (800) 462-8328, ext. 8250 to find out the best way to complete your purchase.
Buying a used car from a private seller may save you money compared with purchasing the same model at a dealership. Without a dealer to prepare paperwork or take care of specific tasks, you should expect to handle the purchase process independently. When you buy a used car from an independent seller, be prepared to take care of the following:
A car manufacturer may recall vehicles to repair or replace a part that may be unsafe. While manufacturers may notify car owners of the recall by mail, you may not receive these notices if you buy a used car from a private seller. You can check for recalls online by visiting the National Highway Transportation and Safety Administration (NHTSA) website. If you find a recall on your vehicle, you should take immediate steps to repair your car.
While the title proves you own the car, the registration is basically permission from the state to operate it on the road and will come to you with license plates to display on the vehicle. Depending on whether you purchased a vehicle from a dealer or a private individual will determine the actions you'll need to take.
Unlicensed car dealers purchase vehicles from private parties and then attempt to sell them to the public claiming the vehicle is theirs. It's true, the vehicle is really theirs. More than likely they paid the previous owner to purchase the vehicle. However, they never legally transferred the vehicle to their name to avoid paying transfer fees and mainly, use-tax. It will be apparent that they are in fact an unlicensed dealer if their name does not exist on the vehicle's title. Once you attempt to register the vehicle in your name, the DMV will require you pay title transfer fees twice. Once for transferring the vehicle to your name, and once for transferring the vehicle from the original owner(s) name to the seller's. Beware, the DMV may require extensive paperwork showing proof of chain of ownership. They may even require a signature from the original owner releasing vehicle ownership to the seller. This may become a nightmare if the original owner can no longer be contacted.
If you suspect the vehicle you plan on buying has unpaid tickets, ensure you get a well written bill of sale clearly indicating the date of purchase, down to the hour, and have the seller sign it. You never know how many citations a vehicle may have accumulated, especially if it was being advertised for sale while parked on a public street.
You are employed in the state.You claim tax exemptions on a home in CA.You rent or lease a home or apartment in CA.You've applied for state documents such as a driver's license or voter registration.You've got your dependents in some kind of education system in the state.NOTE: The above rules do not hold true for military members or those in their family.Once you have become a resident of the state of California, please visit your DMV office and turn in:Form REG 343 for titling and to register your vehicle, signed by all owners or a third party along with lienholder information, if it applies.Commercial vehicles must have Form REG 4008 all filled out and ready to go.Trailers need to be registered with Form REG 4017 to be legal on the roads.Proof of an insured vehicle.An out-of-state title or registration for those who are transferring theirs to CA. This will not be needed for those who are not applying for a CA title simultaneously, though the vehicle registration is non-transferable for those not getting a CA title (See \" California Vehicle Registration\" below to find out how to go from non-transferable to transferable). Vehicle Registration for those not living in CA:You also have the option of using a vehicle registration renewal that indicates registration with the DMV in another state in which it was registered.Weight certificate, if it applies.Smog/emissions certificate, if it applies. (See \"Safety and Smog Checks\" below)Payment of all tax and fees. (Refer to \"Registration Fees\")DMV field office employees will do a physical check of the vehicle and VIN number. Then, you will get your CA title or registration certificate along with your license plate and vehicle registration sticker.California Vehicle RegistrationThere are a few varying processes to register your vehicle that depend on whether the car was bought through a dealership, third party or private party. 59ce067264